I'm not kidding. When I left my apartment this morning, it was a wonderful 16 degrees. The entire day it hovered somewhere in the 20's. I wouldn't have minded if it was about 10 or so degrees colder. I was happy.
Maybe I should move to Maine... or somewhere like that. Somewhere where it's really cold, and peaks at at 60. 70 is permissible, but not preferable.
I don't understand how anyone can stand to live farther south than.... maybe Virginia.
I hate having to frog things, but sometimes you just have to. Two recent example for me:
The lovely Bellatrix, who's life wast short-lived for several reasons... The yarn was so pretty (It was Neighborhood Fiber Co. Studio Sock in Mount Pleasant) and I just couldn't deal with the way it was pooling all over the place. It fit beautifully and was crazy comfortable, but it was just too... colorful for a sock, especially for me. Too bad, Bellatrix. As lovely as your evil-ness was, you were doomed to die young.
I love these fingerless gloves. Hell, I love fingerless gloves period. Any kind, any time. Period. The Studio Sock will probably go into a pair of fingerless gloves or mitts after a little while. Now, this is a pair of Queen of Diamonds fingerless gloves. The yarn is Knit Picks' Gloss in Concord Grape. Like the yarn. Love the color. The shape of the damn thing is just sooo... awkward. Not to mention the strange mistake I made in the fingers:
If you can see that, the stitches on the marker are supposed to be the pinky stitches, which somehow ended up on the front of the glove. I didn't realize it until right now. Since finishing the thumb, had been debating whether or not to do away with it. Figuring out the mistake here was the clincher. I don't plan on trying this pattern again.Now for a not-so-recent FO:
This scarf was supposed to be a Lizard Ridge afghan. Turned into more of a lizard ridge scarf. I really really like it, and ended up giving it to my friend Sonya after she came back from Japan. It was at least 10 feet long at first, but she threw it into the washer and semi-felted it. Not quite so long anymore. I love Kureyon. Oh, and if you take a look at her hair, you might notice that she has dreadlocks, which are wrapped in yarn. She does that, and every few months changes it to a new one. This time around it's Malabrigo Worsted in Verde Esperanza. She ended up using a skein and a half, which is apparently much less that she usually uses. And than she offered me leftovers :DWhen I get bored I draw on myself.....
1 comment:
Are you going to make those fingerless gloves for my sister?
I used to draw on myself with gel pens in middle school all the time. I had a bunch of different coloured ones, and would make little dots with them, starting at my knuckles and covering the back of my hand (usually in math class). I sort of looked like a lizard. It was cool.
Then a couple of years ago, if I got really emo, I took my Crayola washable markers and wrote all the horrible things I was thinking about myself on my body. "Fat" "stupid" "unloved" "lazy" whatever. Then I would get in the bathtub and wash it all off and watch the water turn different colours.
Cold sucks, but maybe class will get canceled.
Post a Comment